Map of the Sourlands

Organization and People


Caroline Katmann is the Sourland Conservancy’s full-time Executive Director. Caroline was a New Jersey public school teacher, staff developer, and district-level administrator for 31 years before retiring from public education in 2005 to become an education consultant for a privately owned consulting company in New Jersey. In 2009, Caroline became a trustee on the board of the Sourland Conservancy (SC). In 2012, Caroline decided to retire from her consulting position and spend more time on her volunteer activities with the Sourland Conservancy. In January of 2013, she was hired as the organization’s first full-time Executive Director.

As Executive Director, Caroline has operational responsibility for the Sourland Conservancy’s programs and accomplishment of its mission and strategic plan. She provides high quality of administration, fundraising and communications; she recommends strategies, budgets, work programs, timelines and resources needed to achieve SC’s strategic plan goals.

Laurie Cleveland is the Sourland Conservancy’s Director of Communications and Development since October 2015. Formerly, an account executive, sales manager and media planner, Laurie and her family have lived in the Sourlands for over 20 years.



Standing Committees:

Other Committees:


Board of Trustees

Profession/Affiliation Years Served
Joanna Fiori, President Retired business analyst and system manager at Citibank and INVESCO; member of Family Council-an organization that serves the special needs community. 5
Marylou Ferrara, Vice President A graduate of Rutgers University School of Law where she was a Marshall-Brennan Fellow. She is a former Mayor of Hopewell Township. During her tenure, the Township adopted a new Master Plan, which was based on natural resource and infrastructure capacity. Lot sizes were markedly increased in order to provide adequate aquifer recharge and to allow for sufficient dilution of nitrates from septic systems. This zoning was recently upheld by the Appellate Division. As Mayor, she partnered with SBMWA and directed municipal staff to participate in the Watershed’s first municipal assessment. 2
Andrea Bonette, Secretary Andrea Bonette graduated from the University of California in 1965. She moved to New Jersey to begin what became a thirty-five year career as a public school teacher in the Princeton Schools, ten of them as a middle school science teacher.  She discovered the Sourlands in 1972 one spectacular autumn evening by getting lost trying to retrace a shortcut to Flemington.  She and her husband Bob built their house in the East Amwell section of the mountain and soon became involved in Township government. In addition to terms on the Environmental Commission, the ad hoc Stormwater Committee, and the Recycling Committee, Andrea was elected to the Township Committee where she served as Committeewoman, Mayor and Deputy Mayor until 2004.

Having been an active Girl Scout in Oakland, Andrea has long had a concern for the environment.  In 1986 at a time when increased development threatened this area, she joined a group of neighbors and friends to found the Sourland Planning Council, residents (mostly) of the five Townships which have jurisdiction over portions of the Sourlands. Through public outreach activities such as slide presentations and bus tours, as well as direct political activities, she has continued to be an outspoken advocate for careful planning and regulation to protect this region.  She was SPC President for five years and now serves as Secretary.

Veronique Oomen, Treasurer MSC in Applied Physics, and an MBA. Strong financial management skills. 10+ years of project management. Certified 6Sigma Black Belt. Track record of technical and organizational problem solving. 1
Jim Andrews An electrical engineer at SRI International. He designs imagers for satellites, telescopes and scientific instruments. Some of these imagers are in satellites to be observing the sun and ones looking down at the earth able to make clear pictures of weather phenomena both during the day and at night. Other imagers are in telescopes keeping track of orbiting space debris. 2
Kevin Burkman A Montgomery resident, Mr. Burkman holds a B.S. degree in environmental planning, and a M.S. degree in urban/regional planning, both from Rutgers University. He has a particular focus in applying geographic information systems (GIS) to planning issues, and his work spans across environmental, urban, and historical subjects”. 2
Tracy Carluccio Deputy Director of the Delaware Riverkeeper Network 8
Robert  Cibulskis Retired from U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. In addition to hazmat response Bob specialized in information systems, robotics, telemetry, video production, and software design and development. 3
Joel Coyne Worked as an Environmental Health Specialist for over 30 years.; Sustainability Coordinator for Bernards Twp for 8 years; member of West Amwell Environmental Commission; GIS Consultant 1
Marian Fenwick Retired from NJ Dept. Of Human Services Division of Developmental Disabilities; Assistant 4H leader in Somerset County 10
Gary Johnston Certified Financial Planner for Ameriprise Financial and member of Princeton Chamber of Commerce. 3
 Tim Johnson Owns and operates Renaissance Restoration. Founding member of the 1759 Vought House in Clinton and member of Hillsborough Historic Preservation Committee 3
Gery Juleff

Ex-UK diplomat now focused on homeschooling son.  Part of Green Hour Radio team and volunteer teacher on environmental sustainability at Princeton Learning Cooperative.

Marcia Maguire Retired: NJ DEP – policy, planning and legal affairs, professor at NYU and University of Pennsylvania and  government consultant on post-revolutionary Iran. 5
Beverly Mills Former Executive Director of the Drumthwacket Foundation in Princeton, NJ; former Administrator for the Trent House Association in Trenton, NJ; currently Office Manager for the Presbyterian Church in Lawrenceville. 1
Roger Thorpe Degrees in Aerospace Engineering and Geophysical Fluid Dynamics.20 years contract research for NASA and DOD in the areas of rocketry and ceramic composite armor.15 years running a fluid dynamics computer modeling lab to assist in the design of air pollution control systems for power plants and oil refineries.Last 3 years as volunteer for D&R Greenway stewardship program. 2

Honorary Trustees

Ray Brown

Robert and Stephanie Harris

Rush Holt

John McGahren

Scott and Hella McVay

Chris Strum

Emeritus Trustees

Ken Bogen

Andrea Bonette

Jennifer Bryson

Charlie Clark

Steve Davidson

Deb Fabricatore

Jerry Haimowitz

Judy Jengo

Tom Kilbourne

Rachel MacKow

Peg Van Patton

Jared Rosenbaum

Tom Seessel

Patricia Sziber

Cathy Urbanski

Cliff Wilson

взлом вконтакте бесплатно без программ